You are here

District Court Moves Five Counties To The Rock Island Division

Friday, May 29, 2015

SPRINGFIELD - Clerk of Court Kenneth A. Wells announced today that effective June 1, 2015, the United States District Court for the Central District of Illinois will reorganize five counties in their district. The counties of Bureau, Hancock, Knox and McDonough from the Peoria Division and Schuyler county from the Springfield Division will all become part of the Rock Island Division. This reorganization is being done to help more evenly distribute cases among the four divisions in the Central District of Illinois.

The new organization of the district will be as follows:
PEORIA, IL will have the following counties: Fulton, Livingston, Marshall, McLean, Peoria, Putnam, Stark, Tazewell, and Woodford.
URBANA, IL will have the following counties: Champaign, Coles, Douglas, Edgar, Ford, Iroquois, Kankakee, Macon, Moultrie, Piatt, and Vermillion.
SPRINGFIELD, IL will have the following counties: Adams, Brown, Cass, Christian, DeWitt, Greene, Logan, Macoupin, Mason, Menard, Montgomery, Morgan, Pike, Sangamon, Scott, and Shelby.
ROCK ISLAND, IL will have the following counties: Bureau, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Knox, McDonough, Mercer, Rock Island, Schuyler, and Warren.